- The Number: 70% on 50 Questions
- What 70% Means in Practice
- Exam Format and Delivery
- Why the Score Is Only Part of the Picture
- Content Areas Behind the Score
- Results Timing, Retakes and Fees
- Eligibility Questions That Come Before the Score
- A Domain-Ordered Prep Plan
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The published passing score is 70% or higher on a 50-question multiple-choice written exam.
- You get four hours, delivered online under supervision, with computer use limited to completing the exam.
- Results arrive within 48 hours; a 90-day wait before retaking is recommended, not stated as mandatory.
- A retake needs a new application fee; the first exam attempt is included in the initial application fee.
The Number: 70% on 50 Questions
If you are searching for the passing score on the ESD Aerospace & Defense Engineer Certification, the answer is short: 70% or higher. That figure comes from the exact-specialty row of the issuer's published exam FAQ, which lists a 50-question multiple-choice exam, a four-hour time limit, and the 70% threshold. The credential is issued by Exemplar Global through its iNARTE brand, in partnership with RMV Technology Group LLC.
The details around that number matter just as much as the number itself. This guide breaks down what the threshold implies, how the exam is delivered, how it fits into the broader certification pathway, and how to structure preparation so you clear it comfortably. If you want a wider view of how demanding the credential is overall, see our complete difficulty guide.
What 70% Means in Practice
With 50 questions and a 70% cutoff, simple arithmetic tells you that you need to answer at least 35 questions correctly. The published materials do not describe any scaled scoring, partial credit, or per-domain minimums, so the cleanest reading is a straightforward percentage of correct answers across the whole exam. If you want to know whether a different scoring method applies, confirm it with RMV or Exemplar Global directly when you apply.
| Item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 50 |
| Question type | Multiple choice |
| Time limit | Four hours |
| Passing score | 70% or higher |
| Minimum correct answers (derived) | 35 of 50 |
| Results turnaround | Within 48 hours |
Four hours for 50 questions is a generous allotment. That is roughly several minutes per item, which signals that questions are expected to reward careful reading and applied reasoning rather than rapid recall. Time pressure is unlikely to be your main enemy; gaps in applied standards knowledge are.
Exam Format and Delivery
The written exam is delivered online under supervision. The FAQ states that computer use is limited to completing the examination, so plan on a clean, distraction-free setup rather than a multi-window research session. Questions are multiple choice, which fits the subject matter: identifying the correct control, selecting the appropriate standard, interpreting a measurement, or choosing the right response to a nonconformance.
Because this is an aerospace and defense specialty, expect scenario-style thinking: a workstation, a package, a material, an incoming lot, or a troubleshooting reading, followed by a decision about what is compliant, what is not, and why. That framing is an inference from the course content rather than a published statement about question wording, but it is the practical lens that the eight course-content entries encourage.
Why the Score Is Only Part of the Picture
Here is a nuance many candidates miss. The written exam does not stand alone. RMV's prerequisite course runs five days and includes daily hands-on instructor grading in addition to the written examination. The issuer lists 40 total course hours. The four-hour written-exam limit is a separate thing from the course length and from the practical assessment.
So when people ask "what do I need to pass," the complete answer has layers:
- Achieve 70% or higher on the 50-question written exam.
- Complete the hands-on elements graded by instructors during the five-day course.
- Satisfy the application and eligibility review conducted by RMV and Exemplar Global.
RMV reviews applications and arranges training and assessment, while Exemplar Global issues the certification. The published sources do not give a separate numeric passing standard for the hands-on grading, so ask RMV how that component is evaluated when you request their brochure and application.
Content Areas Behind the Score
The issuer's course overview retains eight content entries. Domains 1 through 7 are unweighted preparation topics, and Domain 8 is the published assessment activity. There is no formal weighted blueprint in the public sources we checked, and the entries do not establish exhaustive exam coverage or an official eight-domain exam count. That means you cannot assume a certain number of questions per domain; prepare broadly across all seven topic areas. For a topic-by-topic walkthrough, see our guide to all eight content areas.
Domain 1: ESD training for harsh environments
Aerospace and defense work does not happen on a tidy factory floor. Expect to reason about how environmental extremes change the way ESD controls are trained, applied and maintained.
- Why standard training assumptions may not hold in harsh conditions
- How personnel behavior ties to control effectiveness
Domain 2: Utilization of ANSI/ESD S20.20, NASA 8739.6, and Mil-Std ESD updates
This is the standards backbone. You should be able to tell the documents apart, know which governs which context, and follow how updates change requirements.
- Distinguishing commercial, NASA and military requirements
- Applying revisions rather than memorizing outdated clauses
Domain 3: Verification of ESD materials, products, and workstations
Verification is about proving a control works, not assuming it does. Think measurement, periodic checks and what a failing result implies.
- Verifying materials and products against requirements
- Checking workstation elements and interpreting results
Domain 4: New ESD packaging, handling, storage, and transportation
Protection must extend across the full chain from storage to shipment. Newer packaging approaches and the handling practices that keep them effective are in scope.
Domain 5: Instrument-driven hands on ESD troubleshooting
This area pairs naturally with the hands-on grading in the course. You should understand how instruments are used to locate and characterize an ESD problem, then reason toward a corrective step.
Domain 6: Following an ESD material qualification list (MQL)
A qualification list constrains what may be used. Know why an MQL exists and how to work within it when selecting or accepting materials.
Domain 7: Incoming inspection "first line of defense" techniques
Incoming inspection is where defective or noncompliant material is caught before it reaches production. Expect to think about what to check and what to do when something does not conform.
Domain 8, the certification examination itself, is the assessment activity rather than a study topic. Our first-attempt study guide maps these topics to a preparation sequence.
Results Timing, Retakes and Fees
The published FAQ states that results are issued within 48 hours. That is a fast turnaround compared with many professional exams, so you will not be left waiting for weeks.
If you fall short of 70%, the mechanics are:
- The initial examination is included in the application fee.
- A retake requires a new application fee.
- A 90-day retake interval is recommended. The FAQ does not state it as mandatory, so confirm the current rule with the issuer before planning a rapid second attempt.
The issuer's course page publishes $400 for application and two-year certification, and $400 for two-year renewal, subject to its fee-table exclusions. That table does not label the currency, and a later check could not reproduce a current price result, so currency remains unconfirmed. RMV quotes course tuition separately and supplies its fuller brochure and application by email. Because a retake carries a fresh application fee, passing on the first attempt has a direct financial benefit. Our cost breakdown covers the full picture.
Key Takeaway
Treat the first attempt as the one that counts. The first exam is bundled into the application fee, but any retake costs a new application fee plus a recommended 90-day gap. Use a timed practice run on our practice test site before you sit the real thing.
Eligibility Questions That Come Before the Score
You cannot reach the written exam without clearing application review, and the public sources disagree on the exact thresholds. We preserve the conflict rather than pick a winner:
| Source | Stated education / experience |
|---|---|
| iNARTE Personnel Certification Catalog (full Engineer table) | Graduate-engineer education of four years of college, plus six or more years of work experience; adjacent guidance allows educational credits and equivalencies subject to review |
| Exemplar Global Credly badge | Four-year STEM degree and nine years of relevant experience |
| RMV requirements page | Four years of college plus five years of engineering experience, but candidates with less than six years are assigned to Engineer-in-Training |
RMV also requires one supervisory reference and two additional signed references. Applicants supply a resume, degree copy and training evidence, and agree to the iNARTE Code of Ethics. Because the sources conflict, rely on RMV and Exemplar Global's application review to determine whether you qualify for the full Engineer grade. Our requirements guide goes deeper on how to document your background.
A Domain-Ordered Prep Plan
Since Domains 1 through 7 are unweighted, a balanced plan beats cramming a single favorite topic. Sequence matters, though: the standards in Domain 2 underpin almost everything else, so start there. This is the one section where we lean on generic scheduling, and only to show where each ESD domain fits.
Standards foundation
- Domain 2: ANSI/ESD S20.20, NASA 8739.6 and Mil-Std ESD updates
- Domain 1: harsh-environment training concepts
Controls and verification
- Domain 3: verifying materials, products and workstations
- Domain 6: working within a material qualification list
Flow of material
- Domain 4: packaging, handling, storage and transportation
- Domain 7: incoming inspection techniques
Applied troubleshooting and review
- Domain 5: instrument-driven troubleshooting
- Full-length 50-question timed practice, then review misses by domain
Scoring 70% means you can afford to miss up to 15 questions, so you do not need perfection. But because there is no published weighting, a weak spot in any one area could cost several points. After each practice set, tag every miss to its domain and revisit the worst performer first. Our one-page cheat sheet is useful for the final review pass.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
Certification is valid for two years after approval. The specialty catalog requires training and examination every two years before renewal. The general CPD link on the issuer webpage does not replace this specialty renewal requirement, so do not assume continuing-professional-development credits alone will keep you current. The published renewal fee is $400 for two years, subject to the same fee-table caveats and unlabeled currency noted above.
Whether the effort pays off depends on your career path. Our analyses of return on investment and earnings address that without inventing figures the public sources do not support.
Frequently Asked Questions
The published passing score is 70% or higher on a 50-question multiple-choice written exam, which works out to at least 35 correct answers.
The written exam has a four-hour limit and is delivered online under supervision, with computer use limited to completing the examination.
Results are issued within 48 hours according to the issuer's exam FAQ.
A retake requires a new application fee. A 90-day retake interval is recommended, though the FAQ does not state it as mandatory, so verify the current rule with the issuer.
No. RMV's five-day prerequisite course includes daily hands-on instructor grading in addition to the written examination, and your application must also clear eligibility review by RMV and Exemplar Global.
For the practical side of reaching 70%, work through realistic questions on our practice test platform and pair it with the scheduling guide so you know when the next course is expected. The issuer's course page advertises the next course for March or April 2027, with venue and pricing by inquiry and no exact public date.