- Here, ESD means the ESD Aerospace & Defense Engineer Certification, issued by Exemplar Global through its iNARTE brand.
- The written exam is 50 multiple-choice questions in four hours; the passing score is 70% or higher.
- Certification lasts two years, and the specialty requires training and examination every two years before renewal.
- Published eligibility thresholds conflict across sources, so confirm your path with RMV and Exemplar Global's application review.
What "ESD" Means on This Site
Search for "ESD meaning" and you will find several unrelated answers, because the acronym is shared by multiple fields and credentials. On this page, ESD refers to one specific credential: the ESD Aerospace & Defense Engineer Certification. It is a professional certification aimed at engineers who work with electrostatic discharge control in demanding aerospace and defense settings, and it is the only credential this article describes.
That distinction matters if you arrived here from a general query. If you want the broader vocabulary, our companion pages on what ESD stands for, what ESD is and what ESD means cover the term more generally. This article focuses on what the certification itself means for a working engineer: who issues it, what it tests, how it is structured and what it asks of you to earn and keep it.
Who Runs the Credential
The certification is issued by Exemplar Global through its iNARTE brand, in partnership with RMV Technology Group LLC. The division of labor is worth understanding before you apply:
- RMV reviews applications and arranges the training and assessment.
- Exemplar Global issues the certification itself.
- The scope covered here is the full RMV-iNARTE ESD Aerospace & Defense Engineer grade.
In practical terms, you will deal with RMV for course logistics and application review, while the credential that appears on your resume and any digital badge traces back to Exemplar Global. RMV quotes course tuition separately and supplies its fuller brochure and application by email, so expect to make direct contact rather than checking out through a public storefront.
What the Credential Covers
The issuer's course overview lists eight content entries. Domains 1 through 7 are unweighted preparation topics, and Domain 8 is the published assessment activity. No formal weighted blueprint was verified in the public sources, and these entries do not establish exhaustive exam coverage or an official eight-domain exam count. Treat them as the issuer's published map of what the preparation course addresses, not as a percentage-by-percentage exam outline. For a deeper walk-through, see our guide to all eight content areas.
Domain 1: ESD training for harsh environments
Aerospace and defense work rarely happens in a tidy factory bay. This topic frames how ESD control training must adapt when conditions are demanding.
- Why standard-environment assumptions can fail in harsh settings
- How to train personnel so control habits hold up under real operating conditions
Domain 2: Utilization of ANSI/ESD S20.20, NASA 8739.6, and Mil-Std ESD updates
This is the standards backbone of the credential. Expect to work with the named documents and their updates rather than treat them as background reading.
- Knowing which document governs which situation
- Tracking updates so your program reflects current requirements
Domain 3: Verification of ESD materials, products, and workstations
Control programs depend on proving that materials, products and workstations perform as intended, not assuming it.
- Verifying workstation performance
- Confirming that materials and products meet the requirement they are sold or specified against
Domain 4: New ESD packaging, handling, storage, and transportation
Protection must travel with the product. This topic addresses how packaging, handling, storage and transportation practices protect sensitive items between points of use.
Domain 5: Instrument-driven hands on ESD troubleshooting
The phrase "instrument-driven" signals measurement-based diagnosis. It also fits the course format, which includes daily hands-on instructor grading.
- Using instruments to locate and characterize a problem
- Reasoning from readings to root cause
Domain 6: Following an ESD material qualification list (MQL)
A material qualification list constrains what may be used in a program. Candidates should understand how to apply an MQL and work within it.
Domain 7: Incoming inspection "first line of defense" techniques
Incoming inspection is positioned as the first line of defense against nonconforming materials and products entering the program.
Domain 8: Certification examination
The published assessment activity. Its format is described in the next section.
Exam Format at a Glance
The examination details come from the issuer's published exam, cost and results document, specifically its exact-specialty row. Here is what that row specifies:
| Element | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Question type | Multiple choice |
| Number of questions | 50 |
| Time limit | Four hours |
| Passing score | 70% or higher |
| Delivery | Supervised online; computer use limited to completing the examination |
| Initial attempt | Included in the application fee |
| Retakes | Require a new application fee |
| Results | Issued within 48 hours |
| Retake interval | 90 days recommended; not stated as mandatory in the FAQ |
Two points deserve emphasis. First, the four-hour written-exam limit is a separate thing from course duration and from the practical assessment. RMV's five-day prerequisite course includes daily hands-on instructor grading in addition to the written examination, so the credential is not purely a test-day event. Second, 50 questions over four hours is a generous time allowance per question, which suggests the items reward careful reading and applied reasoning over speed. For the arithmetic of the cut score, see our page on the ESD passing score, and for realistic expectations on difficulty, read how hard the ESD exam is. We do not cite a pass rate here because none was verified; our pass rate article discusses what is and is not known.
Eligibility and the Conflicting Thresholds
This is the area where candidates most often get confused, because the public sources do not agree. Rather than pick a winner, here is what each source says:
| Source | Stated education / experience |
|---|---|
| iNARTE Personnel Certification Catalog (full-Engineer table) | Graduate-engineer education comprising four years of college and six or more years of work experience; adjacent guidance allows educational credits/equivalencies subject to review |
| Exemplar Global Credly badge | Four-year STEM degree and nine years of relevant experience |
| RMV requirements page | Four years of college plus five years of engineering experience, yet later assigns candidates with less than six years to Engineer-in-Training; also requires one supervisory and two additional signed references |
The catalog is the scheme document, which gives it weight, but the other two sources are public-facing and candidates will encounter them. The practical resolution is to let RMV and Exemplar Global's application review determine your full-Engineer eligibility rather than relying on any single page. Applicants supply a resume, a degree copy and training evidence, and agree to the iNARTE Code of Ethics.
Key Takeaway
Do not self-disqualify, and do not assume you qualify, based on a single threshold you read online. If you sit near the boundary, for example around five to six years of experience, ask RMV directly whether you would be reviewed as a full Engineer or placed in the Engineer-in-Training category. Our ESD requirements guide goes further into how to prepare your application.
Fees, Course Time and Renewal
Fees
The issuer course page publishes $400 for application and two-year certification and $400 for two-year renewal, subject to its fee-table exclusions. Two caveats apply. The table does not label the currency, and although a prior United States fee-calculator review recorded USD, a later check could not reproduce a current price result. Currency therefore remains unconfirmed by the current public check. Course tuition is quoted separately by RMV, and the fuller brochure was not retrieved, so budget for tuition as an unknown until you receive a quote. Our certification cost breakdown lays out how to organize these line items.
Course hours and scheduling
The issuer lists 40 total course hours, delivered through RMV's five-day course. RMV's course page advertises the next course for March or April 2027, with venue and pricing available by inquiry; no exact date or public tuition amount is supplied. See our notes on exam dates and scheduling for how to plan around that kind of window.
Validity and renewal
Certification is valid for two years after approval. The specialty catalog requires training and examination every two years before renewal. The general continuing-professional-development link on the issuer webpage does not replace this specialty renewal requirement, so do not assume CPD credits alone will keep the credential current.
Where the Credential Fits in Careers
The domain names point to the kinds of employers and roles that value this credential. Standards such as NASA 8739.6 and Mil-Std ESD updates, along with harsh-environment training and material qualification lists, are the language of programs that build or sustain hardware for space and defense. Natural fits include:
- ESD program engineers and coordinators at aerospace and defense manufacturers
- Quality and inspection professionals responsible for incoming inspection
- Test, failure-analysis and troubleshooting engineers who use measurement instruments
- Supplier-quality and materials engineers who work from qualification lists
We do not quote salary figures here because no verified earnings data was available for this credential. If compensation is your main question, our salary guide and ROI analysis discuss how to evaluate the value qualitatively, and our ESD jobs overview describes the kinds of roles in this space.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Because the domains are unweighted, there is no data-backed reason to over-invest in one at the expense of others. A sensible ordering follows dependency: standards first, because they supply the vocabulary everything else uses; hands-on and verification topics next; inspection and qualification last, because they apply what came before.
Standards foundation
- Domain 2: ANSI/ESD S20.20, NASA 8739.6 and Mil-Std ESD updates
- Build a one-page map of which document applies to which situation
Verification and environments
- Domain 3: verification of materials, products and workstations
- Domain 1: harsh-environment training considerations
Packaging and troubleshooting
- Domain 4: packaging, handling, storage and transportation
- Domain 5: instrument-driven troubleshooting, ideally paired with real measurement practice
Qualification, inspection and review
- Domain 6: following a material qualification list
- Domain 7: incoming inspection techniques
- Timed practice with a 50-question set to rehearse the four-hour exam
For a fuller plan, see our ESD study guide, and keep our one-page cheat sheet nearby for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself, try the ESD practice tests to see how scenario-style questions feel under time pressure.
If you want a broader orientation before committing, our pages on ESD certification, what ESD certification is and ESD training provide additional context, and you can return to the main practice site at any point.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here it refers to the ESD Aerospace & Defense Engineer Certification, issued by Exemplar Global through its iNARTE brand in partnership with RMV Technology Group LLC. It does not refer to any other credential that happens to share the acronym.
The exact-specialty row specifies 50 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit and a passing score of 70% or higher. The exam is delivered through supervised online testing.
The initial examination is included in the application fee, and retakes require a new application fee. Results are issued within 48 hours, and a 90-day retake interval is recommended, though the FAQ does not state it as mandatory.
It is valid for two years after approval. The specialty catalog requires training and examination every two years before renewal, and the general CPD link on the issuer webpage does not replace that requirement.
The public sources disagree on years of experience and degree wording, so none should be treated as final on its own. Submit your resume, degree copy and training evidence, and let RMV and Exemplar Global's application review decide your full-Engineer eligibility.